Member Institutions of the Bahamas Deposit Insurance Corporation

A licensed bank or credit union that holds Bahamian dollar deposits is required to join the Deposit Insurance Corporation (DIC). The scheme exclusively applies to DIC members for account balances in Bahamian dollars and excludes all other currencies. More than 270 financial firms are registered in the Bahamas. Several of them engage in deposit taking activities under a non-resident qualification and therefore do not participate in the DIC. Is your bank or credit union not on the list? Then, find out more on Bank Deposit Protection in the Bahamas here.

The following banks and credit institutions are members of the Bahamas Deposit Insurance Corporation:


  • Ansbacher (Bahamas) Limited
  • Bank of The Bahamas Limited
  • The Bank of Nova Scotia Trust Company (Bahamas) Limited
  • Citibank N.A.
  • Commonwealth Bank Limited
  • Fidelity Bank (Bahamas) Limited
  • Finance Corporation of Bahamas Limited
  • FirstCaribbean International Bank (Bahamas) Limited
  • RBC Royal Bank (Bahamas) Limited
  • RF Bank & Trust (Bahamas) Limited
  • Scotiabank (Bahamas) Limited

Credit Unions:

  • Bahama Islands Co-operative Credit Union Limited
  • Bahamas Law Enforcement Co-operative Credit Union Limited
  • National Workers Cooperative Credit Union Limited
  • One Eleuthera Cooperative Credit Union Limited
  • Public Workers’ Co-operative Credit Union Limited
  • Teachers & Salaried Workers Co-operative Credit Union Limited
  • The Grand Bahama Co-operative Credit Union Limited