Public holidays in Cyprus

Cyprus is a country with many holidays and other days where government agencies or banks don’t work. This is important to consider when you plan to visit Cyprus to claim your FBME funds via the Deposit Guarantee Scheme. You don’t want to arrive to a closed door when you travel from other countries to file your claim.

The central bank of Cyprus frequently publishes updates on their website in order to inform the public about public holidays in Cyprus. It is therefore recommended to visit the website of the central bank to be absolutely certain that you book your stay when you have time.

Additionally, when you book your stay in Cyprus to claim FBME funds via the Deposit Guarantee Scheme you can find proper locations for a stay overnight in Nicosia at websites like Booking and AirBNB. Closest hotels to the central bank of Cyprus and FBME Bank Cyprus main office are Semeli Hotel and Hilton (don’t confuse Hilton Hotel with Hilton Park which is on the other side of town). The main airport of Cyprus is Larnaca or Hermes International Airport. Paphos is another airport on the island, it is smaller and between 1,5 and 2 hours driving to Nicosia but lots of cheap carriers fly to Paphos.

Opening hours of FBME Bank Cyprus in Nicosia are on weekdays between 9am and 13pm. The central bank has its opening hours between 8am and 13pm. You have to visit FBME Bank first before you can file your claim at the central bank.

All general public holidays in Cyprus:

  • 2016:
1 Jan Fri New Year’s Day
6 Jan Wed Epiphany
14 Mar Mon Orthodox Ash Monday
25 Mar Fri Greek Independence Day
1 Apr Fri National Day
29 Apr Fri Orthodox Good Friday
1 May Sun May Day
2 May Mon Orthodox Easter Monday
20 Jun Mon Orthodox Whit Monday
15 Aug Mon Assumption Day
1 Oct Sat Independence Day
28 Oct Fri Ochi Day /
Greek National Day
25 Dec Sun Christmas Day
26 Dec Mon Boxing Day
  • 2017:
1 Jan Sun New Year’s Day
6 Jan Fri Epiphany
27 Feb Mon Orthodox Ash Monday
25 Mar Sat Greek Independence Day
1 Apr Sat National Day
14 Apr Fri Orthodox Good Friday
17 Apr Mon Orthodox Easter Monday
1 May Mon May Day
5 Jun Mon Orthodox Whit Monday
15 Aug Tue Assumption Day
1 Oct Sun Independence Day
28 Oct Sat Ochi Day /
Greek National Day
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day
26 Dec Tue Boxing Day